Bengal to get six new districts

The West Bengal cabinet on Friday ratified a proposal to create six new districts including Sundarbans - the world’s largest mangrove forest.

Addressing the media at the state secretariat following a cabinet meeting, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said the Darjeeling district in north Bengal will be bifurcated and a new district Kalimpong - now a sub-division - carved out of it.

The Sundarbans stretches currently across parts of the North and South 24 Parganas districts. Further, the Basirhat district would be formed out of North 24-Parganas district.

The existing Burdwan district will be bifurcated into Burdwan (Industrial) and Burdwan (Rural) while Jhargram, now a police district under West Midnapore district, will become a full-fledged administrative district.

Banerjee also said Mirik block in Darjeeling district will be upgraded into a subdivision, while Jhalda and Manbazar blocks in Purulia district will also become subdivisions.

“It will take us at least six months to a year to create the new districts,” she said.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it