79 city police officials transferred to districts

For the first time in the history of the city police, 79 officers have been transferred in the district taking merger of city and the state police one step forward. It may be mentioned that there is a speculation in the state administration that West Bengal Police and Kolkata Police will be merged soon. 

The Kolkata Police is governed by the Kolkata Police Act of 1864 while the state police have its own act. Thus there is a Commissioner of Kolkata Police and West Bengal is having the Director General of Police at its head. The Commissioner of Police of the city from the time of the British period 
enjoys more power and privilege. It is referred to as Charlie Peter (CP) in police parlance.

Seventy nine police officers including some assistant commissioners were also been transferred and from now on they will be working for the state police till further order is issued.

Baidya Nath Saha, Assistant Commissioner of Police of the city police’s Detective Department, has been sent to the post of Dy SP, Border Alipurduar and Manoj Das, Assistant Commissioner of Police of the Kolkata Police’s Special Branch has been sent to Dy SP Border Cooch Behar.

The 61 other police officers of the Kolkata Police went sent to districts including Hooghly, West Midnapore, Nadia, Malda, Bankura, Murshidabad, North Dinajpur, Nadia, Purulia, South 24-Parganas and North 24-Parganas.

Some officers were also sent on deputation to Missing Persons Bureau of Purulia and Bibhum and Darjeeling. Meanwhile, officers-in-charge and additional officers-in-charge of four police stations Maidan Police station have been changed.

The officers-in-charge of Burrabazar, Entally and additional officers-in-charge of Narkeldanga police stations have been changed. 


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it